Green Gloobies and Wumpires: a Review of Fortunately, The Milk by Neil Gaiman

Screen Shot 2018-05-09 at 7.42.29 AM.png
Genre:
Childrens, Fantasy
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Publication date: June 5th, 2014
Format: Paperback
Source: Personal
Page Count: 160

Add to Goodreads
Buy from MPH Online , Kinokuniya Malaysia

Blurb:

 You know what it’s like when your mum goes away on a business trip and Dad’s in charge. She leaves a really, really long list of what he’s got to do. And the most important thing is DON’T FORGET TO GET THE MILK. Unfortunately, Dad forgets. So the next morning, before breakfast, he has to go to the corner shop, and this is the story of why it takes him a very, very long time to get back.
Featuring: Professor Steg (a time-travelling dinosaur), some green globby things, the Queen of the Pirates, the famed jewel that is the Eye of Splod, some wumpires, and a perfectly normal but very important carton of milk.

The award-laden, bestselling Neil Gaiman, author of The Ocean at the End of the Lane, Stardust, Neverwhere, The Graveyard Book and Coraline, brings his biggest ever publishing year to a spectacular conclusion with this gloriously entertaining novel about time-travel, dinosaurs, milk and dads.

Screen Shot 2017-05-13 at 3.46.50 PM

Screen Shot 2017-05-13 at 2.14.29 PM

Fortunately, Neil Gaiman is a master of fantasy worlds bound to blow us away! I picked Fortunately, The Milk on a whim at a bookstore that was having a sale. The last book I read by GAIMAN was Neverwhere, which I loved. And Fortunately, The Milk did not disappoint me one bit.

“You have your milk,” he said. “Where there is milk, there is hope.”

Fortunately, The Milk is a perfect book for children and adults who want to experience Gaiman’s whimsical world in which humans and the non-humans reside together. The father, who looks uncannily like Gaiman himself, finds himself in a bit of a mess one morning after he goes out to get milk for his children’s breakfast. It’s a whirlwind of an adventure from then on with a good dash of dinosaurs, aliens, female pirates and space police!

The characters in Fortunately, The Milk are all so brilliantly written and Chris Riddell’s illustrations are gorgeous as always. My copy of Neverwhere was also illustrated by Riddell with equally amazing illustrations. You know you’re in for a wonderful time when these two men get together and produce something great.

Fortunately, The Milk is very short with only 160 pages and I wish there was more to it. But having a good short fantasy read rekindled my love for the genre and Gaiman’s writing. You’ll be blown away by the simplicity of the story and reminded of your childhood years where you spent hours reading about aliens, space adventures and time traveling mishaps!

A highly recommended read from me, in which I know this book will have you in for a great time.

Fortunately, The Milk is perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and those interested to dive shortly into his whimsical world. You’ll resurface wishing to read more of his works.

Screen Shot 2017-05-13 at 3.46.50 PM

Screen Shot 2017-05-13 at 2.30.29 PM

Screen Shot 2017-05-30 at 6.17.43 PM

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s