Review: All The Words I Should Have Said (Rania Naim)

Screen Shot 2017-05-21 at 12.02.49 PM.png

Genre: Poetry
Publisher: Thought Catalog
Publication date: December 1st, 2016
Format: Paperback
Source: Thought Catalog
Page Count: 166

Add to Goodreads
Buy from Thought Catalog

Blurb:

Rania Naim’s ‘All The Words I Should Have Said’ is a beautiful, limited edition paperback book that poetically explores the thrills of love, the highs and lows of life, and the challenges of new beginnings.

Screen Shot 2017-05-13 at 3.46.50 PMScreen Shot 2017-05-13 at 2.14.29 PM

I was pretty excited to receive this beautiful poetry book by Thought Catalog as a gift. I’ve always loved poetry books. Being a romantic at heart, reading about love always bring this warm, fuzzy feeling in my chest. Despite being super realistic about life and my relationship expectations, I do believe love brings out the best and worst in us, which may or may not be during our best of times.

I included Rania Naim’s All The Words I Should Have Said in my Ramadan TBR since she’s a Muslim Egyptian. It’s always so exciting to find a female poet, and one whose Muslim! So I was looking forward to this. Finished it in 2 train rides, so it’s pretty short.

Her words are quite beautiful in this book. She talks mostly of broken hearts, loneliness and sorrow. It tends to get a bit depressing from all the emotions that’re being poured into the book. And at times I felt I wasn’t really connecting to the poems. But there were some really nice pieces about self-resilience and being strong for no one else but you.

That said, I felt a little on the fence with this one. Some of the poems felt a little cliche when it came to heartbreak. They’re relatable to anyone who has gone through a heartbreak or ever been in love. But overall, nothing special comes to mind when I read this book. It didn’t grip me as much as I wanted to and I wasn’t reminded of the beauty of love, or even heartbreak, whilst reading this. Though there were some nice pieces about knowing what you deserve in love, I felt a little bland towards the other pieces.

That said, I still think it’s worth a try if you like love poems. And I do hope you enjoy more than I did!

Screen Shot 2017-05-13 at 2.30.29 PMScreen Shot 2017-05-30 at 6.17.59 PM

Leave a Reply

