London Book Haul!

Hey guys! If you followed me on my social media, you may have noticed that I was in London last week for my graduation (yay!). And of course I couldn’t help but to go on a book spree while I was there. I visited Foyles Charring Cross, Waterstones Piccadilly Circus and Any Amount of Books. Alongside various WHSmith I found at train stations.

If you’d like to know more about London Independent Bookstores do read my post here.

I was looking forward to scouring for books that aren’t easily found in Malaysia, and here are my finds!

I got Beyond the Bright Sea and The Other Half of Happiness at Any Amount of Books on Charring Cross. A secondhand bookstore that has a wonderful collection of both old and new books. All this for just £3 can you believe it??! I love Lauren Wolk who also wrote Wolf Hollow, review here, and Beyond the Bright Sea was just released this month, so it is by SHEER PURE LUCK that I found this gorgeous book in a secondhand bookstore! I’ve been falling deeply in love with Middle Grade books with wonderful plots and life lessons, that I am super excited to read this one.

The Other Half of Happiness by Ayisha Malik is actually the sequel to the wonderful book Sofia Khan is Not Obliged. I’ve heard so many wonderful things about the first book that I went to Foyles Charring Cross to get the book for £8. If you want to try out the first book, I’d recommend you buying from BookXcess Malaysia which stocks it for just RM17.90! You can imagine my frustration when I found out BookXcess actually stocked it. But, I’ve dealt with it. Obviously.

I am very stoked to begin this series soon as my attempt to read more by Muslim authors or about Muslim representation in fictional books. I’m even planning to join a readalong hosted by Muslim Readathon for #RamadhanReadathon and I will definitely include both of these books! I think it’s high time we get more fictional books that give a normal and hilarious account of modern Muslims!

Screen Shot 2017-05-08 at 10.03.52 PM

The final 2 books I got at Waterstones Piccadilly Circus. I love their “Buy 1 Get 1 Half Price” offers because new titles are sure to be included in the list! And I can’t resist buying 2 books after entering their beautiful store….

How beautiful is that hardcover Release by Patrick Ness? I would have loved to buy it but I already got myself a paperback in Malaysia. (I’ve read this and it’s just brilliant!)

Screen Shot 2017-05-08 at 10.03.20 PM

Anyway I got The Secret of Nightingale Wood and Miss You from Waterstones! If you’ve noticed I’ve grown my love for Middle Grade books ever since I read Pax (review here). So, I’m ecstatic to be trying out more MG books and see if The Secret of Nightingale Wood is as good as its review. MG books nowadays have such wonderful story line and lessons for the young that the old should definitely give it a try too.

Miss You is a romance novel with a twist of humor. I thought it’d be fun to try out a cute romance novel that centers around 2 adults not being able to meet each other because of missed opportunities and wrong timing. Sounds like a book I could get down with. I may find myself in the mood for some romance-booster in the future 😉

I’m looking forward to reading all of these titles! My TBR just keeps increasing but it doesn’t intimidate me when I know I’ve got amazing titles like these waiting for me. Have you read any of these books? 😀

 

 

Leave a Reply

