Review: Your Soul is a River (Nikita Gill)

Screen Shot 2017-04-28 at 6.05.46 PM.png
Genre:
Poetry
Publisher: Thought Catalog
Publication date: June 12th, 2016
Format: Paperback
Source: Thought Catalog NYC
Page Count: 160
Add to Goodreads
Buy from Thought Catalog

Blurb:
This is a book about the journey of healing from trauma and becoming whole again.

Directions: apply to your soul gently, whilst sitting under the stars.

 

Screen Shot 2017-05-13 at 3.46.50 PM

Screen Shot 2017-05-13 at 2.14.29 PM

“Some things are beautiful, but they are beautiful in the way of the sun. If you fly too close, they will melt your wings and send you plummeting into the sea.”  

I have no idea what did I do to deserve such an amazingly written poetry book such as Your Soul is a River from folks at Thought Catalog. I mean this book blew my mind away. I try to read poetry books with meaning and self reflection because I know the approach to this genre is very unique and not being a person of an arts background, I do sometimes struggle with the depths of meaning behind every poem.

But Your River is a Soul just spoke straight to my heart.

I can’t even begin to describe how beautiful this book is. How well written it is in describing the wonderful journey of love, life, loss and self-acceptance. The book is divided into 8 parts: from being a part of the universe to breaking hearts and healing your own.

22172820.png

Each section talks about the human condition and what it means to be part of something bigger. Bigger than ourselves and our problems. To love and to have lost. To pick back up the pieces and understand that we should always believe in our hopes and believe that we are beautiful.

“When they ask you for your favourite poem,
don’t say it was him, don’t say it was her.
Say it is you.

Always.
It is you.

There were so many pieces that spoke to me and I felt pained by how true Nikita’s words are. I could relate on so many levels, thinking back of the friends I’ve gained and lost over the years, the relationships that made me smiled but got lost in the ocean. There were so many feelings and emotions evoked I’m surprised I didn’t burst out crying in public when reading this.

And Nikita was right you know…you should read this beneath the stars and apply it to your soul gently. Because boy can this be such a great therapeutic treatment to the soul. It will do wonders for your soul.

“You have grown so much
because you have quietly realised
you aren’t just teardrops.
You are an ocean.”

This is without a doubt, one of the most beautiful poetry book I have ever read. I highly, highly recommend it. Unfortunately it is super difficult to get in Malaysia. I’ve checked Kinokuniya and they don’t stock it. You can only buy this from Thought Catalog’s website.

If you ever come across this book, do let me know what you think of it!

Thanks Thought Catalog for giving me a copy simply to enjoy the beautiful words of Nikita Gill!

Screen Shot 2017-05-13 at 3.46.50 PM

Screen Shot 2017-05-13 at 2.30.29 PM

★★★★★

Leave a Reply

