Review: The Gun Seller (Hugh Laurie)

Screen Shot 2017-03-16 at 7.43.47 PM.png

Genre: Crime, Thriller
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Publication date: 1996
Format: Paperback
Source: Personal
Page Count: 340
Add to Goodreads
Buy from Book Depository

Blurb:
When Thomas Lang, a hired gunman with a soft heart, is contracted to assassinate an American industrialist, he opts instead to warn the intended victim – a good deed that doesn’t go unpunished.

Within hours Lang is butting heads with a Buddha statue, matching wits with evil billionaires, and putting his life (among other things) in the hands of a bevy of femmes fatales, whilst trying to save a beautiful lady… and prevent an international bloodbath to boot.

REVIEW:

I have so many mixed feelings for this book! On one side, I love the humor and sarcasm infused within the book. It was truly written with the persona and voice similar to that of Dr House from the House series where Hugh Laurie is hugely known for.

On the other hand, I’m beginning to realise that spy novels aren’t really my thing.

The Gun Seller is about Thomas Lang, an ex army man, who finds himself in the middle of a secret organization set to create war in order to sell one of their defense weapons. That’s the gist of the book and Lang was blackmailed to enter the organization. Along the way he questions the justice in his actions and involvement that plays around with the lives of other people. There were a lot of politically incorrect statements intentionally set within the book. Laurie questions the stability of a government and what it means to actually take care of the millions of lives under your protection.

“Having a vote once every four years is not the same thing as democracy.”  

I truly enjoyed this solely for the numerous times I laughed out loud at the cynical sentences and sarcastic comments about life, love and money.

“It is the middle of December now, and we are about to travel to Switzerland – where we plan to ski a little, relax a little, and shoot a Dutch politician a little.”  

The plot is a bit too slow for me, but no doubt this book would probably appeal more towards male readers who have interests in movies like Die Hard or Mission Impossible. Since I am neither a fan of these, I didn’t get to enjoy the book in its entirety.

I do however would recommend this if you’re looking for a good laugh and some misadventures that reminds you of Dr House if he were an international spy. Imagine all the cynicism and sarcastic comments directed at pretty girls… And I do hope you enjoy this more than I did!

RATING: ★★★☆☆

2 thoughts on “Review: The Gun Seller (Hugh Laurie)

  1. Kat says:

    Well, I never knew Laurie had written a book. I absolutely loved House (and still do), so I think I will give it a try! Thank goodness I stumbled across this review.

    Like

Leave a Reply

