Diversity Spotlight #6

diverse-spotlight1.png

Hey guys, welcome to another installment of Diversity Spotlight Thursday created by Bookshelves & Paperbacks ! If you’d like to view my previous posts on this tag click the links below:

Diversity Spotlight #1
Diversity Spotlight #2
Diversity Spotlight #3
Diversity Spotlight #4
Diversity Spotlight #5

The questions included in the diversity spotlight Thursday are:

  1. Diverse book you enjoyed reading
  2. Diverse book that has been released and you want to read
  3. Diverse book yet to be released and you want to read

Here are my picks for this week!

1. Diverse book you enjoyed reading

screen-shot-2017-03-01-at-8-06-54-pm

 

Goodreads: When Dimple Met Rishy by Sandhya Menon
My Review

Oh my god, this book! This book was such a gem that I instantly fell in love with the characters, their ambitions, their love for their family and traditions. This book was such a fresh breath of air where we get to see more Asian based characters going through the average teenage dillemma: first loves and starting out college.

I truly enjoyed this book from beginning until the end, so I truly recommend this to everyone!

 

 

2. Diverse book that has been released and you want to read

screen-shot-2017-02-11-at-11-49-26-pm

 

 

Goodreads: The Hate U Give (Angie Thomas)

This book is finally out! But it’s yet to arrive in Malaysia 😦 I really cannot wait to get my hands on this. I love books that centers around the struggles of a PoC character to defeat the stereotypes and stigma surrounding their race or skin colour.

In The Hate U Give, it’s inspired by the Black Lives Matter movement and I hope to learn more about it through this.

 

 

 

 

3. Diverse book yet to be released and you want to read

Screen Shot 2017-03-19 at 10.12.05 AM.png

Goodreads: I Believe in a Thing Called Love (Maurene Goo)

Publication date: May 30th 2017

Another YA contemporary about Asian characters! From the blurb it sounds super fun: an Asian girl wanting to find love before she gets started in college. Sure it sounds cliche, but the thing that makes this unique? Korean Drama Love Advice! I am not a K Drama junkie but oh do I love Korean drama love plots. They’re so cheesy and romantic, makes you all bubbly and warm inside.

#GoblinLover

I do hope this turns out fun and wonderful. If the character is bimbo-ish and just desperate for high school drama, I reckon I won’t be enjoying this as much. (I hated To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han, so you get my drift)

That’s all for this week! Thanks for reading and see you in the next Diversity Spotlight installment 😉

 

Leave a Reply

