Diversity Spotlight #5

diverse-spotlight1.png

Hey guys, welcome to another installment of Diversity Spotlight Thursday created byΒ Bookshelves & Paperbacks ! I haven’t done a diversity post in so long, and for that I apologize. I’ve been so busy with work and reviewing current books I’ve read. But I’m glad I finally have made the time to write up this post!

Questions included in the diversity spotlight Thursday are:

  1. Diverse book you enjoyed reading
  2. Diverse book that has been released and you want to read
  3. Diverse book yet to be released and you want to read

And because I suck in being up to date with upcoming releases, I shall do my diversity posts answering the first 2 questions only πŸ™‚

Here are my picks for this week!

1. A diverse book you have read and enjoyed

Screen Shot 2017-02-11 at 11.36.47 PM.png

Goodreads: Six of Crows (Leigh Bardugo)

From a crippled MC to a dark skinned heroine and rich and homosexual characters, Six of Crows is one of the most diverse books I’ve ever read. I truly enjoyed the wonderful mix of characters here where we see each of them dealing with their own difficulties and diverse backgrounds. Their differences made them work well as a team which led to interesting adventures and mishaps.

 

 

 

 

2. A diverse book that has already been released but you have not read

Screen Shot 2017-02-11 at 11.38.36 PM.png

Goodreads: Wing Jones (Katherine Webber)

(By the time this post is scheduled, I will have read this book haha! I hope this still counts)

I recently bought this book because I was attracted to the diverse background of the character – Chinese-Ghanian teenager trying to find her place in this world after a tragedy strikes her family. I love uplifting stories of teenagers finding hope in the darkest of times and finding their voice or passion in life. I’ve heard so many good things about this book and the spray-painted edges are so gorgeous! I cannot wait to read this one soon.

3. Diverse book yet to be released and you want to read

Screen Shot 2017-02-11 at 11.49.26 PM.png

Goodreads: The Hate U Give (Angie Thomas)

This is another diverse book that I am so excited to come out and read! This is the story of a PoC character trying to find her way in a world so caught up in body image and media-influenced beauty. Inspired by the Black Lives Matter, this book questions how we treat people of all races and religion. Just like Wing Jones, I love YA contemporaries with strong messages of self-acceptance and power of diversity. I definitely cannot wait to read this when it comes out end of February!

 

 

 

Thanks for reading this post! Have you read any of these books and what did you think of them? What would be your top diverse reads that you would recommend to me?

One thought on “Diversity Spotlight #5

Leave a Reply

