Review: Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them Screenplay (J K Rowling)

Genre: Fantasy

Rating: ★★★★★

Synopsis:

When Magizoologist Newt Scamander arrives in New York, he intends his stay to be just a brief stopover. However, when his magical case is misplaced and some of Newt’s fantastic beasts escape, it spells trouble for everyone…

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them marks the screenwriting debut of J.K. Rowling, author of the beloved and internationally bestselling Harry Potter books. Featuring a cast of remarkable characters, this is epic, adventure-packed storytelling at its very best.

Whether an existing fan or new to the wizarding world, this is a perfect addition to any reader’s bookshelf.

Beautiful flow of plot and language eaisly understood. Easily imagined especially if one has seen the movie or watched the trailer. Fallen more in love with Newt but I wish he had more lines

Review:

“Jacob: Newt . . . I don’t think I’m dreaming.

Newt: What gave it away?

Jacob: I ain’t got the brains to make this up.”  

First of all…can we stop and appreciate how beautiful this book is? The dust jacket and the naked hardback is worthy of speechless moments caressing this wonder.

Now I’ve yet to watch Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (yes, I have been that busy and putting this off for far too long!) and I promise you I will watch it soon. But otherwise, I truly enjoyed this wonderful, wonderful masterpiece by J K Rowling. Such a job well done for her first screenplay. After the many critics received for Cursed Child, I believe Fantastic Beasts received more positive feedback because of the movie.

Now, you might want to read this book as a revisit after watching the movie. I’ve heard it makes for a much more brilliant experience since you can already imagine Newt and Jacob’s personalities easily. But in the rare case like me where I’m not entirely accustomed to the 1920’s Wizarding World, I purely relied on Fantastic Beasts’ movie trailer to piece the scenes and information together.

It was wonderful to go back in time and see how American wizards and witches lived in the No-Maj land and their odd ways of controlling magic. To see the world of magic 50 years before Harry Potter was born was exciting and brought so many inner-childhood happiness! I also love  reading about all the wonderful beasts contained inside Newt’s case. My particular favourite happens to be the Niffler! I love me some sparkly diamonds 😉

And you definitely can’t help swooning over Newt Scamander and naivety!

“My philosophy is that worrying means you suffer twice…”

The downside to this situation is I missed out on a lot of hidden scenes not mentioned in the book but was aptly visulaized in the movie. I wouldn’t have known about this without talking about the book with a colleague who’s watched the movie already. He talked about scenes not scripted in the screenplay (which contains spoilers) and I was shocked to find out I missed it! So I’d definitely recommend reading this book after watching the movie 😉

Have you watched the movie or read the screenplay? Let me know what you think about them!

Leave a Reply

