Diversity Spotlight #4

diverse-spotlight1.png

Hey guys, welcome to another installment of Diversity Spotlight Thursday created by Bookshelves & Paperbacks ! Click to see the first, second and third installment of this series in my blog. I’ve decided to alter a bit the original post. Initially we had to answer 3 questions:

  1. Diverse book you enjoyed reading
  2. Diverse book that has been released and you want to read
  3. Diverse book yet to be released and you want to read

And because I suck in being up to date with upcoming releases, I shall do my diversity posts answering the first 2 questions only 🙂

Here are my picks for this week!

1. A diverse book you have read and enjoyed

Screen Shot 2016-10-13 at 8.57.00 PM.png

Harmless Like You by Rowan Hisayo Buchanan

I just finished this brilliant debut novel by a writer who has Western and Asian ancestry and it is such a well written book! Questioning an artist’s struggles in New York on top of being female and Asian, this is easily one of my favourite diverse reads. Read my review here and please pick this up if you have the time!

2. A diverse book that has already been released but you have not read

Screen Shot 2016-11-19 at 9.41.25 PM.png

The Forty Rules of Love by Elif Shafak

I am very much looking forward to this Turkish-influenced novel that contains many Rumi references! It has such an interesting premise and I hope to venture more into Oriental or Middle Eastern novels.

Thanks for reading this post! Have you read any of these books and what did you think of them?

15 thoughts on “Diversity Spotlight #4

  1. Jauza Mumtazah says:

    This is so cool! I have never heard any of these books before, I guess I’m really used to reading and talking about Western books, but now that you’ve shown some interesting ones, (especially that they’re about diversity) I’m definitely adding these books to my wish list 😀
    Oh and by the way, I’m from Indonesia and it’s real nice to see that someone who wears hijab like me has a blog all about books! ❤

    Like

    • BookLoves_ Reviews says:

      Thank you for stopping by! I have a few hijabi friends who are book bloggers and even more who are readers haha. Nice to meet you ! What kind of books do you like to read? 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • Jauza Mumtazah says:

        All kinds, actually! But most of my books are fantasy, sci-fi, and historical fiction. But these days, I try to find different kinds of books, what about you? 🙂

        Like

  2. doddyaboutbooks says:

    Great post!! I really enjoyed Harmless Like You. I really found Yuki to be such an intriguing character – I had no idea what she would do next. I’ve just picked up Honour by Elif Shafak. I look forward to seeing what you think of this one!

    Like

  3. Aimal @ Bookshelves & Paperbacks says:

    Harmless Like You sounds like a wonderful book; the synopsis is kind of reminiscent of A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara (but not really, because that one follows four male friends). Idk. 😛 I’ve read Forty Rules of Love – honestly didn’t enjoy it nearly as much as I wanted to, but I know so many people ADORE it. Hope you love it! ❤

    Like

    • BookLoves_ Reviews says:

      I’ve read ALL and I didn’t enjoy it due to its sheer volume and very draggy plotline. I definitely enjoyed HLY even more! 😀 Ah I see, well I’ve yet to purchase that book so I hope I’ll enjoy it when I do ! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

