Review: The Thousandth Floor (Katharine McGee) 

Genre: Young Adult, Speculative Fiction

Rating: ★★★★

Synopsis:

Welcome to Manhattan, 2118.

A hundred years in the future, New York is a city of innovation and dreams. But people never change: everyone here wants something…and everyone has something to lose.

Leda Cole’s flawless exterior belies a secret addiction—to a drug she never should have tried and a boy she never should have touched.

Eris Dodd-Radson’s beautiful, carefree life falls to pieces when a heartbreaking betrayal tears her family apart.

Rylin Myers’s job on one of the highest floors sweeps her into a world—and a romance—she never imagined…but will her new life cost Rylin her old one?

Watt Bakradi is a tech genius with a secret: he knows everything about everyone. But when he’s hired to spy by an upper-floor girl, he finds himself caught up in a complicated web of lies.

And living above everyone else on the thousandth floor is Avery Fuller, the girl genetically designed to be perfect. The girl who seems to have it all—yet is tormented by the one thing she can never have.

Debut author Katharine McGee has created a breathtakingly original series filled with high-tech luxury and futuristic glamour, where the impossible feels just within reach. But in this world, the higher you go, the farther there is to fall….

Review:

I received The Thousandth Floor in my last Bookish Bundle purchase and was pretty excited to start reading it. I’ve read some positive reviews about the book and its futuristic elements as well as combining Gossip Girl and Pretty Little Liars vibes into it. I was intrigued to see how the future would be different than today and what the rich kids would be up to.

Now, to be honest I had very low expectations with this book. It is categorized as YA because of the age of the characters, and I usually have my own reservations when it comes to teenage YA. Which is why I normally avoid YA contemporaries. But I ended liking this book a lot. Which is a great surprise if you know me.

Nonetheless, there are still elements of the book I disliked, so I’ll begin with those first before I tell you what I liked about this book.

The Not So Great…

The thing that was hugely missing from this book was the details. The Tower shown at the front cover of this book is the biggest, if not only, setting throughout the book. But unfortunately we don’t really get a clear view of how the Tower was constructed and how the floors are laid out. We get brief glimpses of the lives that inhabit The Tower, mostly the upperTower (or highliers) where the wealthy reside, and I feel like the rest of the building’s inhabitants were sidelined. I was also hoping for more details on the history of the building and its construction and impacts to the world.

Also, we didn’t really see how Manhattan is in the future asides from The Tower’s looming presence. McGee mentioned  other countries building such massive mega-structure but nothing about the civilization surrounding it and how The Tower dominated the future. The book was entirely focused within The Tower as if anything, and anyone, outside it cease to exist. I am a huge fan of details for futuristic/sci-fi books, but the scope of this book truly was confined within The Tower. There were only 2 scenes where the characters actually left the The Tower (to Brooklyn and Long Island) and I just wished there was more!

But I have to admit, wearing contacts in place of Google Glasses is a pretty nifty idea!

That’s basically all the things I felt was lacking in the book. Now on to the good stuff!

The (Very) Good…

Man, this book is just filled with suspense and drama that it makes up for everything else! This book is pure adrenaline and unpredictable turns from 100 pages and on. The multiple POV (there were 5 in total) eventually revealed a deep dark secret and that kept me on my toes for the book’s ending. It’s no secret that the book starts off with a girl falling from the 1000th floor, so the whole plot of the book was leading up to reveal who died and the secrets behind the death.

I was countlessly shocked at how well McGee wrote these characters and developed them to finally reveal their true ugly selves. The characters start off innocent and jovial enjoying their riches and lavish lifestyle, but as the story progresses you’ll see a dark streak in all of them which eventually becomes the reason for their downfall. I love how McGee plotted each character’s secret which linked them to one another. At certain times I felt a tiny bit overwhelmed at all the twists and turns, but towards the final quarter of the book their secrets blended really well into the story that it became such a page turner!

I believe in happiness. I’m just not sure love will actually get you there… – Cord Anderston

On top of that, I like the similarities of this book to Pretty Little Liars. The blurb mentions the book having similar vibes to PLL and Gossip Girl, and although I’ve never watched GG I can’t compare the book to it. But I enjoyed PLL a lot (before the seasons got draggy and I became impatient) so it was nice to identify the resemblance!

Who wouldn’t want to see rich, spoilt, popular girls fall to their lowest point while tangled in a huge mess of gossip, lies and betrayal?

Sometimes love and chaos are the same thing…

Overall, I liked the plot and how quick this book progressed. Despite the lack of details, McGee did brilliantly for a debut novel to gain a steady fan base and some solid reviews. I would definitely recommend this if you like drama, suspense, unpredictable turns and bitchy characters.

Looking forward to the sequel soon!

Have you read this book? What did you think of it?

2 thoughts on “Review: The Thousandth Floor (Katharine McGee) 

    • BookLoves_ Reviews says:

      Eh i forgot 😂 thanks for reminding me Husna! I kept thinking to their Long Island trip je. But still even Paris was so vaguely described and I was a tiny bit let down.

      Like

Leave a Reply

