Review: Neverwhere (Neil Gaiman)

img_0735

Genre: Fantasy

Rating: ★★★★.5

Synopsis:

Under the streets of London there’s a place most people could never even dream of. A city of monsters and saints, murderers and angels, knights in armour and pale girls in black velvet. This is the city of the people who have fallen between the cracks.

Richard Mayhew, a young businessman, is going to find out more than enough about this other London. A single act of kindness catapults him out of his workday existence and into a world that is at once eerily familiar and utterly bizarre. And a strange destiny awaits him down here, beneath his native city: Neverwhere.

Review:

Neverwhere is my third Gaiman book and I believe with each book of his I read, I fall more in love in the worlds he constructs beautifully. In this one, Neverwhere tells the tale of Richard Mayhew, a common guy working in London Above (the London we know to exist) who gets thrown into London Below against his will after helping out a girl, Door, who belonged in that world.

The world created by Gaiman to distinguish between the two Londons is both amazing and frightening, for London Below is the darker scarier version that is usually kept a secret from the world. Here exists monsters, ghouls, humans and rats living together but not exactly in harmony. The quest to help Door propels Richard into meeting unusual London Below inhabitants and overcoming his fear of the unknown.

The plot was very well written and it’s guaranteed to give you goosebumps and the creeps. It’s a bit brutal and there are many gory scenes, so some discretion is advised for younger readers. However, Neverwhere is originally meant for older readers.

I’ve enjoyed the characters description immensely. With Gaiman, you can definitely count on descriptions and details to be delivered well. He also wrote brilliantly of the many horrors you could expect to encounter once you enter a city’s sewage system

There’s a lot of time in London, and it has to go somewhere – it doesn’t all get used up at once…

I was lucky to find a used copy of the illustrated edition for this book and I’m so happy at how well done the illustrations were done! They completely paint the perfect picture of London Below and enhanced my reading experience. Chris Riddel is hands down a genius!

Processed with VSCO with t1 preset

I’d definitely recommend Neverwhere as your next Gaiman read. I hope the wonderful story telling captures you to try more of his books!

 

10 thoughts on “Review: Neverwhere (Neil Gaiman)

  1. Kat says:

    I’m surprised that, to this day, I have not read a Gaiman book. I’ve always wanted to try Coraline, to see if that draws me into his works, but now I’m not sure if I should start there since there’s so many different books to choose from.

    Like

    • BookLoves_ Reviews says:

      Yes I’ve enjoyed this so much and I look forward to reading his other books. Thank you! I’m lucky to have stumbled upon it 😀 Thank you for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Jeff Coleman says:

    This is one of my favorite go-to books. I’ve read it twice already, and will probably read it again. I remember I was surprised when I learned it was a BBC mini-series before it was a book. Now I learn that there’s an illustrated edition. And Chris Riddell is an extremely talented illustrator. I’d love to add this to my collection.

    Liked by 2 people

    • BookLoves_ Reviews says:

      I was pleasantly surprised it was initially a series too! You should definitely get the illustrated edition! You won’t be disappointed. I hope you enjoy it 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

