The NY Times Book Tag

It’s been a while since I did a booktag. Thought it’d be fun to do this one! 😄

What is on your nightstand right now?

The Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGee. I rarely read multiple books at a time!

What was the last truly great book you read?


Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman

If you could meet any author – dead or alive- who would it be? And what would you want to know?

John Green. I’d ask him about his experience with Syrian refugees and if he’s thinking of writing a new YA novel surrounding them?

What books might we be surprised to find on your shelf?

Sabrina the Teenage Witch series? Haha

How do you organise your personal library?

I recently reorganized my shelves according to genres!

Previously it was according to colour coordination.

What book have you always meant to read but haven’t gotten around to?

Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon

Disappointing, overrated, just not good: What book did you feel you were supposed to like but didn’t?

This is a tough one, I usually pick my books to ensure I enjoy them but occasionally I do read books that aren’t just for me. This book happened to be Like The Starlings by Diyarr Harraz. It gained some positive reviews but I guess it just wasn’t for me?

What kind of stories are you drawn to? Any you stay clear of?

I’m drawn to general fiction because they tell stories of mid life crises or marital problems or relationship issues that I can deeply relate to. I have a high mental age (around 40-ish) and when I read books like these I feel a tiny bit reassured knowing your adult life is meant to be haphazard or chaotic.

I guess I avoid YA contemporaries with cliche love stories where the misfit gets the hot guy or the popular friends because I find those totally unrealistic 😂

If you could require that the president read one book, what would it be?

I’d always recommend Anna Hope’s The Ballroom to anyone anytime!

What do you plan to read next?

Charles Dicken’s A Christmas Carol!

2 thoughts on “The NY Times Book Tag

Leave a Reply

