Review: Letters to You (Almaz A.)

Genre: Poetry
Publisher: Independent
Publication date: August 1, 2016
Format: Paperback
Source: Author in exchange for honest review
Page Count: 96
Add to Goodreads
Buy from Book Depository

Blurb:
Some people spend a lifetime looking for someone to call home. I found you.

Letters to You is Almaz’s debut poetry collection that narrates her journey to finding love by experiencing fear, hesitation, courage and ultimately letting herself freefall into the arms of her soulmate.

REVIEW:

“So I’d give up all the pain I’ve kept harbored within me
Forsake all the bitter memories that has kept me from falling
Just to make room for you”

I fell in love with the beautiful prose contained within this small but impactful book. It’s always a pleasure to find a local writer who writes poetry beautifully and Almaz is a wonderful writer. I found myself tabbing so many of her words because they reminded me of my own relationship and the struggle to find someone you’re comfortable with.

This book talks of the journey being heartbroken caused by a past and stumbling across a person who helped you heal and believe in love again. I love how simple and straightforward it was, because that is how I view love. It is meant to be easy, but it doesn’t mean finding it is.

“But there is a difference between being strong on your own and being strong with someone by your side
That is where my need for you comes from
I have tasted loneliness; I have walked my own path of self-discovery
But I have not begun to discover us”

Letters to You is a scrapbook of feelings and emotions into which we pour our hearts into finding our true love. It talks of insecurities and exhaustion that comes in containing these overwhelming emotions. It also talks of comforts, silences, heartbeats and many many sleepless nights surrounding newfound love and the many many dream-filled nights surrounding old ones.

I thoroughly enjoyed the entire book that I read it in one sitting. I believe everyone can find something to relate to in this book, either you’re in a relationship or looking to fall in love (again).

Give it try, you might find words that break your heart.

RATING: ★★★★

Thank you to the author, @almazspilledink, for providing me a copy in exchange for an honest review. Illustrations in this book are created by Zahira Zahari.

One thought on “Review: Letters to You (Almaz A.)

Leave a Reply

