Review: Nevernight (Jay Kristoff) 

Genre: Fantasy

Rating: ★★★★.5

Synopsis:

In a land where three suns almost never set, a fledgling killer joins a school of assassins, seeking vengeance against the powers who destroyed her family.

Daughter of an executed traitor, Mia Corvere is barely able to escape her father’s failed rebellion with her life. Alone and friendless, she hides in a city built from the bones of a dead god, hunted by the Senate and her father’s former comrades. But her gift for speaking with the shadows leads her to the door of a retired killer, and a future she never imagined.

Now, Mia is apprenticed to the deadliest flock of assassins in the entire Republic—the Red Church. If she bests her fellow students in contests of steel, poison and the subtle arts, she’ll be inducted among the Blades of the Lady of Blessed Murder, and one step closer to the vengeance she desires. But a killer is loose within the Church’s halls, the bloody secrets of Mia’s past return to haunt her, and a plot to bring down the entire congregation is unfolding in the shadows she so loves.

Will she even survive to initiation, let alone have her revenge?

Review:

Well, that was such a whirlwind!

I received this in my first ever Illumicrate box for September and Nevernight has become my most anticipated reads last month. I deliberately read this after I submitted my thesis knowing how heavy this was going to be and wanting to focus as much as possible on reading it.

At first, I thought Nevernight as a YA Fantasy but as I read more of the book, I think it’s more suitable to be classified as just a Fantasy novel. Although the main character, Mia, is 16, you don’t really see her as a teenager in this book. She lacks all the characteristics whiny, low self esteemed teenagers usually possess in YA novels nowadays.

“You’ll be a rumour. A whisper. The thought that wakes the bastards of this world sweating in the the nevernight”

To be honest, the first 150 pages were very difficult to get into and asides from the fact that I was busy in the duration of reading this book, I truly thought it was because of the endless footnotes contained throughout the first third of this book. Initially, I read all of them and some were hilarious and even witty enough to not regret reading them. But some are too detailed and didn’t really contribute to the reading experience and I started skipping the majority of them. Only then it started to get so much better. So that would be my one tip whilst reading Nevernight: just skip the footnotes!

“…the last thing you will ever be in this world girl, is someone’s hero. But you will be a girl heroes FEAR…”

The plot and world building of Nevernight blew me away to say the least! The details of each place, character and history surrounding Mia’s adventure were very well done and I thoroughly enjoyed the whole book. I love how each character was given a thorough voice throughout the book, so nothing felt missing or lack description.My favourite has got to be Aelea, the Shahiid of Masks. She had some nice quotes going for her.

“Secrets are like lovers, my dear. It’s only after you’ve acquired a few that you can make accurate comparisons”

What struck me were the severity and ruthlessness of these characters described by the author. This is ultimately, about a school of murderers. So it is going to get gory, violent and just plain nasty. And the twists and turns of this book will leave you breathless, I kid you not!  It was a very heavy read for me since I don’t read much Fantasy but the writing was brilliant and the violence didn’t bother me at all.

Also, this book lacks any love triangles so that itself is a huge plus point for me 😉

The very small (but not minor) love story left me in shreds when I was done with this book, and I felt a small amount of hate towards the author for doing that. But I got over it and resumed loving this book.

I would definitely recommend this book if you’re looking for bad-ass characters, unpredictable plots and the heart wrenching plot twist, lots of murders and fatal strategies. The narration that was done throughout this book was perfect in my opinion, and in my opinion, it was from Mister Kindly’s POV (am I wrong?). He’s a cat who isn’t a cat really. And if you know me, I love cat characters (or anything resembling them!)

“Beauty you’re born with. Brains you earn.”

Go pick this book up if it’s in your TBR or you’re thinking of getting in. I hope you won’t be disappointed !

Have you read this book? What did you think of it?

Leave a Reply

