Diversity Spotlight #2

diverse-spotlight1.png

Hey guys, welcome to another installment of Diversity Spotlight Thursday created by Bookshelves & Paperbacks ! To see the first installment of this series in my blog, click here. I’ve decided to alter a bit the original post. Initially we had to answer 3 questions:

  1. Diverse book you enjoyed reading
  2. Diverse book that has been released and you want to read
  3. Diverse book yet to be released and you want to read

And because I suck in being up to date with upcoming releases, I shall do my diversity posts answering the first 2 questions only 🙂

Here are my picks for this week!

1. A diverse book you have read and enjoyed

screen-shot-2016-09-21-at-9-53-58-pm

I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou

This is the first Maya Angelou book I ever read and I found it beautifully written. Set in pre-WWI era, Angelou describes in detail the trials and tribulations of the Negro community in America. Said to be an autobiography of the author herself, this poignant story-telling of a life way back then will strike a chord in you and fall in love with Angelou’s amazing writing.

I was just sad that I picked this up after she died.

2. A diverse book that has already been released but you have not read

screen-shot-2016-09-21-at-9-59-35-pm

Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

I never knew Nigeria had such great literature! I have been eyeing this author for a while now and have seen the great reviews her books have received. One day, I’ll pluck the courage and read this book!

Have you read any of these books and what did you think of them?

6 thoughts on “Diversity Spotlight #2

  1. Aimal @ Bookshelves & Paperbacks says:

    I’ve had my eye on Americanah for so long! We had to read some excerpts for class last week, and I fell in love with how poignantly it was written, but was still extremely relatable and accessible. I haven’t read anything by Angelou, but I’ve heard such great things. 🙂 Great post, and thank you for participating!

    Liked by 1 person

    • BookLoves_ Reviews says:

      I am definitely looking forward to reading it soon! But first I have to handle my humongous TBR 😛 You shld try Maya Angelou! She is definitely a brilliant author. No worries, I had fun writing this one! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

