Diversity Spotlight #1

diverse-spotlight1.png

Hey guys! So lately we’ve been seeing a lot of issues being discussed surrounding diverse books. Whilst I appreciate the book community taking notice of more ethnicity, backgrounds, faith and sexuality, I still think we’re far from appreciating people who are not from Caucasian background.

Finding this great tag initiated by Bookshelves & Paperbacks is great because we get to introduce more diverse reads to the book community. I admit, I’m not the most diversed reader there is. I tend to gravitate more towards European/British/American authors because of the quality in writing. But I am all for diversity if it were to be included. That said, I think people need to also stop expecting all authors to write about diversity. It’s totally fine for them to write what they want. We just need to equally support those that do write about diversity. 🙂

Hope you enjoy this tag! Here is my first diversity spotlight post (despite it being a Friday)!

1. A diverse book you have read and enjoyed

Screen Shot 2016-09-16 at 10.04.23 PM.png

Haruki Murakami’s Sputnik Sweetheart

Whilst I am an amateur in Asian Literature, this is one of the few reads I actually enjoyed by Haruki Murakami. It is his earlier works when he used to write general fiction before transitioning to magical realism (which is where I stopped reading his works).

It is the story of a girl in love with a woman 17 years her senior. And she faces the struggle of accepting this affair or arrangement of some sort while battling her own depression. I was surprised I liked this, the writing was great and the plot simple and interesting enough for me to hang on to.

2. A diverse book that has already been released but you have not read

Screen Shot 2016-09-16 at 10.11.26 PM.png

Zen Cho’s Sorcerer to the Crown

Malaysian represent! Yes this author is Malaysian born and her latest fantasy has received some great positive feedback . I’ve seen this book around, ironically in London and not Malaysia, and have thought of trying this book out. I will someday!

 

3. A diverse book that has not yet been released

Ok, let’s be honest…I rarely keep track of upcoming books. I have enough trouble keeping track of published books as it is! So I don’t really have one that comes to mind since I know most of the books I wish to read after they’re published LOL.

But I will make it up by adding another book to #2. The other diverse read I really want to read is…

Screen Shot 2016-09-16 at 10.18.11 PM.png

Ayisha Malik’s Sofia Khan is Not Obliged

This book is by a British born Muslim writer and the synopsis is so intriguing! It’s about the struggles young Muslim females face in today’s society on top of traditional/conservative expectations from parents and relatives. It’s gotten great reviews for being funny and on-point where all female Muslims (or just generally females!) can relate!

I am looking forward to finding this book and buying it soon 😀

Thanks for reading this! I’ve enjoyed reading other’s diversity tag as well. What are some of your favourite diverse reads?

6 thoughts on “Diversity Spotlight #1

Leave a Reply

