Top 5 Authors I Discovered in 2016

Hey everyone! If you didn’t know, I recently just completed my Goodreads Challenge and I’m still giddy over it!

Pats myself at the back…

I initially set 30 books as my goal for 2016, but eventually reached it in June and because it was only mid-year I upped the count to 40. I have half a mind to increase it further to 50, but seeing how I’ll be busy with job hunting and personal matters once I come back to Malaysia, I’ll settle happily for 40 books! I celebrated by buying more books and reading of course ! 😛

Ok, so 2016 is so far an amazing reading year for me (actually, any year I’m reading is amazing anyway) and I discovered so many amazing new writers but here are my top 5 picks that I would immediately buy whatever they publish next!

 

books veschwab.jpg

1. Victoria Schwab

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Victoria Schwab (or V E Schwab as she is known in the YA world) has fast become my favourite fantasy author discovered this year. I started reading the Darker Shade of Magic series in June and I found her writing to be just brilliant. If you want dark and serious fantasy novels that explores morally gray predicaments, then her writing is for you.

I read Vicious soon after and that sealed the deal. I vowed to read everything Schwab publishes and read This Savage Song soon after meeting her at a signing event in London! She is such an amazing person, I cannot get enough of listening her talk about books!

I have recently purchased her much earlier works: The Archived series and will read them soon, so look out for my review on them! I am so excited to read the sequels to This Savage Song and Vicious next year on top of the final installment to the Darker Shades of Magic series!

Meanwhile, here are the books by her I have reviewed and you should definitely check her out!

Review: This Savage Song (V E Schwab)

Review: Vicious (V E Schwab)

Review: A Darker Shade of Magic (V. E. Schwab)

Review: A Gathering of Shadows (V. E. Schwab)

2. Fredrik Backman

Genre: General Fiction

Fredrik Backman is currently my favourite non-American/British author whose translated works always put me in so many feels! I urge you to read his brilliant, comical writing if you’re ever in the need for a light heartwarming read. But prepare some tissues as well because Backman is so brilliant in writing about family relationships that you can’t help but to relate to all of his wonderful witty characters!

My favourite is definitely A Man Called Ove and I can’t wait to get a copy of Britt Marie Was Here, his third new book out this year.

Here are my reviews of his previous 2 books:

Review: My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises (Fredrik Backman)

Review: A Man Called Ove (Fredrik Backman)

Screen Shot 2016-09-11 at 10.34.39 AM.png

3. Lauren Groff

Genre: General Fiction

Words cannot describe how much I fell in love with this book. The beautiful writing, the memorable quotes, the characters so flawed they resembled so many of us young youths. Compulsive, irrational and just plain selfish. Fates and Furies quickly became one of my favourite reads for 2016.

I’ve heard she has previously published short stories but I am looking forward to her next novel. If I can find copies of her previous work, I will most definitely buy them 🙂

Read here for my review of Fates and Furies.

Screen Shot 2016-09-11 at 10.48.53 AM.png

4. Andy Weir

Genre: Science Fiction

Andy Weir single handedly started my love and appreciation for science fiction. I never knew sci-fi books could be so fun. I’ve always loved discovering diverse reads and I’m so happy The Martian made me see the amazing side of this genre.

My only conflict with this genre is how a lot of scientific occurrences can be greatly exaggerated and it is a struggle for me since I have a technical background in science. But Weir is an electrical engineer by degree and this has helped him write an almost-accurate portrayal of outer-space survival in The Martian. The fact that NASA had a direct involvement in the movie adaptation just brought out my inner geek and got me hooked to this book.

I hear he is writing a new sci-fi and I can’t wait to read it when it gets published!

Read here for my review of The Martian.

D1KfINmV4gS.png

5. Sarah J Maas

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

What? I’m just as shocked as you that 2 YA Fantasy writers made it onto this list! If you know me, I’m a huge General Fiction reader but this year I promised myself to get into a bit of fantasy/sci-fi and that is what made my reading journey awesome so far!

Whilst I’m far from proclaiming a YA Fantasy fan, I did enjoy A Court of Mist and Fury more than I expected. A Court of Thorns and Roses was lukewarm for me, but the sequel made up for it. So much that I am anticipating the third installment to this series. So thank you to MaximumPop UK for giving me a free copy of ACOMAF, otherwise I would have missed out on this great series.

Now, before you have any ideas, I will not be reading Maas other highly-acclaimed series: Throne of Glass. It’s simply because it has way too many books in the series and I draw the line at trilogies. Duologies are perfect for me, but you have to be really good to convince me to invest in your trilogy. And ACOTAR has met my expectations so far.

I like Maas writing and world-building. And lets face it, she writes amazing romance/relationships as well, which I personally enjoyed!

Read here for my review of Sarah J Maas’ books:

Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses (Sarah J Maas)

Review: A Court of Mist and Fury (Sarah J Maas)

So here are my top 5 authors I discovered in 2016. Which authors have you enjoyed reading this past year and which book of theirs are your favourite? Leave a comment down below and have a great reading month ahead! Thanks for reading this 😉

Leave a Reply

