The Intimidating TBR Pile Tag!

This tag caught my eye when I saw Sarah’s Chapters doing it and thought it would be fun to do it as well! The original creator of this tag is unknown since I can’t find her link.

So I believe I’m just like any other book lover, I have a considerably big TBR pile. Currently my physical TBR stands at around 25 books. I used to keep it below 20 but somehow the thought of going back to Malaysia and all of its pricey books got me on spending spree these past few weeks that my TBR pile just increased in size.

Anyway, let’s get on with the tag!

01. What book have you been unable to finish?
A number of books: After Alice (Gregory Maguire), The Graces (Laure Eve) and A Little Life (Hanya Yanagihara)…

What book have you yet to read because…

02. …you just haven’t had the time?
I have trouble reading my classics at the moment because I feel like I need to be in the right state of mind to receive their writing well. So, due to my busy schedule as a student, I haven’t had time preparing mentally for these classics.

03. …it’s a sequel?
None. I rarely read series, 99% of my TBR are standalones most of the time.

04. …it’s brand new?
The Archived by Victoria Schwab and Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman. Just got these lovelies in the mail 2 days ago. I cannot wait to read them!

05. …you read a book by the same author and didn’t enjoy it?
Love May Fail by Matthew Quick. I enjoyed Silver Linings Playbook immensely, but the books I’ve read after him (Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock & The Good Luck of Right Now) fell short. I picked this up because I believe authors deserve a third chance.

06. …you’re just not in the mood for it?
This Book Will Save Your Life by A. M. Homes. I enjoyed May We Be Forgiven, but I dunno about this one….

07. …it’s humongous?
None. I already DNF-ed A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara so there are no more humongous books in my pile.

08. …because it was a cover buy that turned out to have poor reviews?
None.

09. What is the most intimidating book in your TBR pile?
The Waves by Virginia Woolf. Such an impulse buy when I have no idea how to approach classics!

10. Who do you tag?
Everyone!

Leave a Reply

