Ten Books I Would Buy This Second If Someone Handed Me A Fully Loaded Gift Card

Another book tag! (Man, these things are fun)

This was initially meant for a Top Ten Tuesday post but since it’s Friday and I want to have a wee bit of fun for the weekend, why not eh? This tag was created by The Broke and the Bookish people. So here goes!

 

screen-shot-2016-09-09-at-4-36-42-pm

  1. The Forty Rules of Love by Elif Shafak

I’ve always been wanting to read more Middle East based books and this is one of Elif Shafak’s most famous works that happens to incorporate Rumi poems. I’m still waiting to find an affordable copy of this! It is definitely at the top of my list!

Screen Shot 2016-09-09 at 4.39.56 PM.png

2. Modern Romance by Aziz Ansari

A social study of modern romance in our society today plagued by social media and technology which is presented in a witty and humorous manner? YES, PLEASE! I’ve enjoyed Ansari’s acting in Rec & Park and look forward to reading this one day.

Screen Shot 2016-09-09 at 4.43.59 PM.png

3. Britt-Marie was Here by Fredrik Backman

This is Backman’s third book and becuase I have thoroughly enjoyed both of his previous works, A Man Called Ove and My Grandmother Sends her Regards and Apologizes, I know I just HAVE to get this book soon. I believe it’s a continuation from My Grandmother Sends her Regards and Apologizes since Britt Marie is one of the characters in that book.

screen-shot-2016-09-09-at-4-54-44-pm

4. Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys

So many people have recommended me this historical fiction. And I’m always open to great reads in that genre. I’ve yet to get a copy of this because of, well…no cheap copies found yet haha. But I will read this soon I promise!

Screen Shot 2016-09-09 at 4.57.18 PM.png

5. Love in Lowercase by Francesc Miralles

They say this is similar to The Rosie Project and I loved that one! Science geeks trying to find love? I’m a sucker for it. Which explains my Big Bang Theory attachment. #NerdAtHeart

screen-shot-2016-09-09-at-5-00-17-pm

6. Lily and the Octopus by Steven Rowley

I just LOVE stories about companionship and it’s even better when it surrounds animals. I tear up easily for animal stories too and this book is underrated in my opinion. You don’t see it that often on bookstagram, but I’m still intrigued.

screen-shot-2016-09-09-at-5-02-39-pm

7. Adulthood is a Myth by Sarah Andersen

Let’s face it, Sarah Andersen is just simply Ah-Mazing. And if you haven’t seen her on-point hilarious comics, your life is lacking something significant. I wish I have this book with me now, but I may just lend this from a friend when I get back to Malaysia.

screen-shot-2016-09-09-at-5-06-00-pm

8. We Were on a Break by Lindsey Kelk

Only cause the title reminds me of Ross and Rachel’s turning point fight in FRIENDS that ultimately ended their relationship.

screen-shot-2016-09-09-at-5-08-41-pm

9.Β  Time Travelling with a Hamster by Ross Welford

Who doesn’t want to time travel with a hamster? This is a sci-fi that sounds super fun and I have yet to see this in bookstores (discovered this through Amazon)

screen-shot-2016-09-09-at-5-10-57-pm

10.The Trouble with Henry and Zoe by Andy Jones

I loved The Two of Us immensely and I would love to see what Jones has in store for us in his new book. There comes a time where all you want is a book reflecting the realistic struggles of modern day relationships and I think Andy Jones nails it.

So those are my top 10 picks! What books would you want to buy if you had the gift card for it?

Leave a Reply

