Review: The Cuckoo’s Calling (Robert Gailbraith)

Genre: Crime

Rating: ★★★★

Synopsis:

After losing his leg to a land mine in Afghanistan, Cormoran Strike is barely scraping by as a private investigator. Strike is down to one client, and creditors are calling. He has also just broken up with his longtime girlfriend and is living in his office.

Then John Bristow walks through his door with an amazing story: His sister, the legendary supermodel Lula Landry, known to her friends as the Cuckoo, famously fell to her death a few months earlier. The police ruled it a suicide, but John refuses to believe that. The case plunges Strike into the world of multimillionaire beauties, rock-star boyfriends, and desperate designers, and it introduces him to every variety of pleasure, enticement, seduction, and delusion known to man.

Review:

This is my first crime fiction and I admit JK Rowling did fairly well for her first crime fiction novel. It’s definitely a genre I’m looking forward to exploring more in the futue.

The story starts quite dramatically with the murder of Lula Landry, a famous supermodel. It then progresses into the investigation conducted by Detective Cormoran Strike, hired by Landry’s brother. The plot is super good, it’s filled with so many twists and clues that it’s very hard (at least for me) to try and figure out the murderer.

The only trouble I had with this book is that it had way too many details! I mean they thrown in everywhere, and for a first timer like me in this genre, I find it really hard to keep track of all of them. I find the plot a bit too slow and uneventful at times too, so it was a struggle to get to the end.

BUT, the plot twist at the end is quite amazing. I didn’t expect it, I had played around at the possibility but was still blown away in the end and I love books that can surprise me like that.

Character wise, I just love Strike. He’s brilliant and smart, and you can’t help but to cheer him on. As for Robin, I didn’t find her presence much impactful to the story.

Overall, a good read. I am definitely reading The Silkworm next!

Leave a Reply

