Review: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child (J K Rowling, John Tiffany & Jack Thorne)

 

Genre: Fantasy

Rating: ★★★★★

Synopsis:

Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. The play will receive its world premiere in London’s West End on July 30, 2016.

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places

Review:

A brilliant read that transported me back to the old days where I would divulge myself in reading Harry Potter books.

I think I am at the right age and maturity to appreciate this script book because it is an entirely different approach to the Wizarding World. Previously, you may have had the advantages of a novel feeding you the scenes and plots, but with a script book, it can get tricky for those not able to imagine it easily.

I approached this book for what it is, knowing that there will be plot holes, and gaps, and missing elements to the story. Because just like a movie, a script book cannot bring the same amount of feels as a novel.

I understand why people disliked this book, but I personally think they expected it to be as complete as a novel when in fact, it was already great in script form.

The plot was wonderful and quick, the characters like family welcoming you back home. And may I mention there is such great character development for Scorpius and Draco? I think everyone enjoyed Scorpius the most in this one. And it is great to know that he exists now.

People are complaining how the characters lack depth and they aren’t the same as in the 7th book. Here’s my response: Did you think that those 17 year old trio would remain the same NINETEEN years later? Did you think enduring the traumatic battle of Hogwarts will make them remain the same, especially after getting married and having kids? I think this book speaks more to adults who have gone through tough times and are struggling with communicating with their children.

Because Harry Potter was never just about the adventures, drama and plots. It was about human allegories and identifying yourself with them when you are struggling in your own life. And that is what I find beautiful about this book.

It doesn’t get easier for Harry Potter. The same will happen to us too.

Anyway, the ending was heartbreaking and I was almost brought to tears. I love the sensation I felt whilst reading this book. I don’t know how to explain it but despite it being a script book, it really worked for me.

I hope it does for you too. If you want a piece of HP but without the thick text, then this is for you. Also, it could be the book that starts your journey into exploring theatres, plays and more script books 😉 

Watch my vlog of the day HPCC was released here.

Leave a Reply

