Review: The Picture of Dorian Gray (Oscar Wilde)

Genre: Classics

Rating: ★★★★★

Synopsis:

Enthralled by his own exquisite portrait, Dorian Gray exchanges his soul for eternal youth and beauty. Influenced by his friend Lord Henry Wotton, he is drawn into a corrupt double life; indulging his desires in secret while remaining a gentleman in the eyes of polite society. Only his portrait bears the traces of his decadence. The novel was a success de scandale and the book was later used as evidence against Wilde at the Old Bailey in 1895. It has lost none of its power to fascinate and disturb

Review:

One of the greatest classics every written, and I survived (enjoyed in fact) reading it! It truly is an amazing novel written by Wilde questioning morality, vanity and desires among other topics explored in this novel. The plot was fast paced (perfect for me!) which is rare for a classics in my opnion, the characters were loathe-worthy (yup, love them too) and I loved so many quotes from the book, I wrote a bunch of them down in my journal.

Emotionally, I felt disturbed by Dorian the whole time, and sympathized with Basil and Alan up to their tragic fates. I love how Wilde left us speculating of certain things in the book, that cheeky ol’ man. A good book is one that makes you think after all. 

I’m beginning to understand why people love classics. The eternal message embedded in them is very relatable centuries later and can be a topic of discussion even until now. I would recommend this if you’re a classics-noob like me. The language isn’t Old English, so you’ll feel like reading something current. I hope you’ll enjoy this as much as I did! 🙂

5 thoughts on “Review: The Picture of Dorian Gray (Oscar Wilde)

  1. aubreyleaman says:

    I want to read this one again at some point! Have you read or seen the movie “The Importance 0f Being Earnest?” Wilde wrote that one, too, and it’s hilarious! Definitely not as intense as The Picture of Dorian Gray, which could be good or bad depending on what you like. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

