Review: My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises (Fredrik Backman)

Genre: General Fiction

Rating: ★★★

Synopsis:

From the author of the internationally bestselling ‘A Man Called Ove’, a novel about a young girl whose grandmother dies and leaves behind a series of letters, sending her on a journey that brings to life the world of her grandmother’s fairy tales.

Review:

Note: Bear in mind I was reading the uncorrected proof copy which is 100 pages extra than the published one.

Initially I gave this 4 stars instead of 3, but after consideration I reduced it to several reasons. But I’d like to focus on the positive aspects of this book first:

  • hilarious story line
  • heartwarming relationship between Elsa & her grandmother
  • great characters in the book that played huge roles in Elsa’s life
  • that ending was PERFECT!


Now, because it was an uncorrected proof copy, the book had some flaws (naturally):

  • plot was too long & winding
  • Elsa is such an annoying smart-ass, she can be very rude and I totally disrespect her mother for raising her to be such foul-mouthed. (Again, must be my Asian background messing with this…)
  • You wonder which parents allow their 8-year-old daughter wonder around town on her own without knowing where she went? (but to be fair, something was mentioned at the end of the book to address this)

So I’m hoping the final version cut off some of the unnecessary details in the plot. I’ll probably pick up the final version if I stumble across it one day. Most probably I predict giving 4/5 stars for the final version.

Fredrik Backman is such a great author, no doubt! He has since become one of my favourite authors because even though his books are translated from Swedish, it is still hilarious I tell you! I have also enjoyed his other book I recently read: A Man Called Ove!

I would recommend this if you’ve loved The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared and The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry 😉

4 thoughts on “Review: My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises (Fredrik Backman)

Leave a Reply

