Review: I Am The Messenger (Markus Zusak)

Genre: Young Adult

Rating: ★★★★

Synopsis:

From the author of The Book Thief comes this darkly funny and ultimately uplifting thriller which proves that anyone can be extraordinary. Ed Kennedy is just your less-than-average Joe who is hopelessly in love with his best friend, Audrey. But after he single-handedly manages to catch a bank robber, he receives a playing card in the mail: the Ace of Diamonds. This is the first message. Four more will follow. But before this particular card game can end, Ed will be changed forever . . .


Will Audrey love the man he has become?

Review:

Gosh I haven’t enjoyed a decent YA in so long and Zusak is just brilliant in this! I love reality-fiction so much that I can definitely enjoy it in the YA genre too apparently. This story is very down-to-earth, doesn’t question much on social behavior or depression or any healthy issues teenagers seem to be having today, but focuses more on the early adulthood of finding your calling and what to do when you literally have no life prospects (as is the case with all the characters in this). I find it very relatable because I am still in my early 20’s and it talked about some serious stuff in here, though Zusak touched them in brief but impactful ways.

Then again this was written in 2002, before The Book Thief I believe, so it can even be considered a classic in the YA generation. 

Anyway, if you want to read about sophisticated characters weaving between real life situations and problems, this is the book for you. 

I’ve enjoyed all the characters immensely and Ed Kennedy is a real good guy whose ending is just perfect for him I believe 🙂

2 thoughts on “Review: I Am The Messenger (Markus Zusak)

Leave a Reply

