Review: Firefly Girls (Kristin Hannah)

 Genre: General Fiction

Rating: ★★★★

Synopsis: 

In the turbulent summer of 1974, Kate Mularkey has accepted her place at the bottom of the eighth-grade social food chain. Then, to her amazement, the “coolest girl in the world” moves in across the street and wants to be her friend. Tully Hart seems to have it all—beauty, brains, ambition. On the surface they are as opposite as two people can be: Kate, doomed to be forever uncool, with a loving family who mortifies her at every turn. Tully, steeped in glamour and mystery, but with a secret that is destroying her. They make a pact to be best friends forever; by summer’s end they’ve become TullyandKate. Inseparable. 

So begins Kristin Hannah’s magnificent new novel. Spanning more than three decades and playing out across the ever-changing face of the Pacific Northwest, Firefly Lane is the poignant, powerful story of two women and the friendship that becomes the bulkhead of their lives.

 Review:

My first Hannah book from the highly acclaimed author. I loved this one, especially because it’s the story of 2 best friends and their highs and lows throughout the 3-decades of their friendship. It was very realistic to me in that it could easily happen to anyone we know with a best friend. The writing is very good and what makes Hannah a wonderful author. It just grips you form beginning till the end, and you’re always wanting more in terms of plot.

The ending broke me. And I was very sad afterwards. To know the story was inspired by the author’s mom made it even sadder. Some say the ending was cliche and predictable but I didn’t mind it one bit. I love realistic endings with heartfelt messages.

The only thing I despised was Kate’s daughter’s attitude towards life. Such a spoilt brat and a poor reflection of Kate and her husband’s parenting. I don’t know why but I really get turned off from bratty characters. I could never tolerate them, despite the author giving a good explanation to why they are like that.

Must be my Asian background…

Other than that, it’s a good read and I would definitely recommend this amazing read!

Leave a Reply

