Review: Pax (Sarah Pennypacker)


Genre: Middle Grade

Rating: ★★★★

Synopsis:

Pax was only a kit when his family was killed, and “his boy” Peter rescued him from abandonment and certain death. Now the war front approaches, and when Peter’s father enlists, Peter has to move in with his grandpa. Far worse than being forced to leave home is the fact that Pax can’t go. Peter listens to his stern father—as he usually does—and throws Pax’s favorite toy soldier into the woods. When the fox runs to retrieve it, Peter and his dad get back in the car and leave him there—alone. But before Peter makes it through even one night under his grandfather’s roof, regret and duty spur him to action; he packs for a trek to get his best friend back and sneaks into the night. This is the story of Peter, Pax, and their independent struggles to return to one another against all odds. Told from the alternating viewpoints of Peter and Pax.

Review:

That first chapter almost broke my heart.

A very moving tale of a boy and his fox who are separated when war is coming. But realising his mistake, Peter decides to set out to find his fox while Pax sets out to find him too.

I enjoyed the overall plot and this is a super fast read (since it was written for Middle Grade readers). I think as an MG book this is very unique. It brings the perspective of loyalty, friendship and the bond between us and our loved ones to a whole new matured level.

And you know, I love me some matured reading materials targeted for kids.

Plus, the illustrations inside this book is simple gorgeous.

On top of that, I wish we had known more about Peter’s mom. There’s probably another layer to it contributing to how Peter views himself. And, I must say that ending was very predictable in my opinion. Very realistic and I understand why it had to happen the way it did. Which was very good of Peter. His journey throughout this book has also been wonderful, in overcoming his fears of growing up and understanding more of his role in his world.

That said, I wasn’t as moved by the story as I hoped to be, but then again I did read this after Fates and Furies which was where all my feels went into and I was probably scare on supply. But I am pretty sure this is a moving story and I just wasn’t in the right time and place to fully appreciate it.

None the less, I would definitely recommend this because despite everything, I did enjoy the plot, writing, characters and general overview of the consequences of war and how a child might view (albeit, not in the full spectrum as one might expect) 

One thought on “Review: Pax (Sarah Pennypacker)

Leave a Reply

