Review: A Man Called Ove (Fredrik Backman)

Genre: General Fiction

Rating: ★★★★★

Synopsis:

The word-of-mouth bestseller causing a sensation across Europe, Fredrik Backman’s heartwarming debut is a funny, moving, uplifting tale of love and community that will leave you with a spring in your step – and less ready to judge on first impressions a man you might one day wish to have as your dearest friend

At first sight, Ove is almost certainly the grumpiest man you will ever meet. He thinks himself surrounded by idiots – neighbours who can’t reverse a trailer properly, joggers, shop assistants who talk in code, and the perpetrators of the vicious coup d’etat that ousted him as Chairman of the Residents’ Association. He will persist in making his daily inspection rounds of the local streets.

But isn’t it rare, these days, to find such old-fashioned clarity of belief and deed? Such unswerving conviction about what the world should be, and a lifelong dedication to making it just so?In the end, you will see, there is something about Ove that is quite irresistible…

 

Review:

Oh god, no words can perfectly describe how I feel about this book. Ove is such a familiar character (I don’t know why) and the way he transitions within the story is so beautiful. For a book that was translated from Swede, it hits all the feels better than any English-language book I’ve ever come across.

I must admit I started crying at the last 2 chapters and I rarely cry for books! Sadness is a common feeling but tears are priceless.

I love how Backman writes so well about family and everlasting love. He had the same theme going for My Grandmother Asked Me to Tell You She’s Sorry and that was beautiful too. His love for his wife Sonja reminds me of my grandfather’s love for my late grandmother and how nothing in this can ever amount to true love.

I am glad I’ve read this book. It broke me a little deep inside. It has truly become one my favoruite reads of all time. I laughed more times than I cried, so you can expect some humour-filled moments as well.

The quote that struck me the deepest has got to be:

“People said Ove saw the world in black and white. But she was color. All the color he had.”

Here is to everyone who knows there is a right and a wrong. Who believes they have a function in society, a simple purpose: to fix their house and be loyal to a woman for the rest of his life. Who has had to go through bureaucratic nonsense and be angry on behalf of a loved one when despair hits them.

Here’s to men like Ove…they don’t make man like him no more… 

4 thoughts on “Review: A Man Called Ove (Fredrik Backman)

Leave a Reply

