Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses (Sarah J Maas)

Genre: YA Fantasy

Rating: ★★★

Synopsis:

Feyre is a huntress.
She thinks nothing of slaughtering a wolf to capture its prey. But, like all mortals, she fears what lingers mercilessly beyond the forest. And she will learn that taking the life of a magical creature comes at a high price…
Imprisoned in an enchanted court in her enemy’s kingdom, Feyre is free to roam but forbidden to escape. Her captor’s body bears the scars of fighting, and his face is always masked – but his piercing stare draws her ever closer. As Feyre’s feeling for Tamlin begin to burn through every warning she’s been told about his kind, an ancient, wicked shadow grows.
Feyre must find a way to break a spell, or lose her heart forever.

Review:

Phew!

I finished my first NA Fantasy novel and what an exciting experience. Do note that as you read this review there are a few things that influenced my review:

1. The last fantasy novel I read was the Inheritance Cycle by Christopher Paolini back in 2012 and am so rusty in the genre I don’t even remember what fairies should look like anymore.
2. I had the brilliant advice given by Malie and Nab to set very, very low expectations for this book since apparently its sequel is much better than this. So I cracked open the book without any expectations at all asides from readying myself to hate Feyre (because I always eventually hate all the main female protagonist in YA/NA, I have no idea why)
3. I binge-listened to Taylor Swift the entire time I read this book and somehow the badassery lyrics about fighting and love were a great combination with the book, coincidentally.

Okay! Now on to my actual review:

I would rate this book between 3.5 stars and that’s quite high for my standards of an NA book. I, surprisingly, enjoyed this book because I expected it to be so bad, that it wasn’t. My expectations were so low that I was shocked at how well Sarah J Maas could really write. And I mean, she writes so amazingly beautiful that it was hard for me to put the book down (either that or I was procrastinating revising for a paper I have next week).

But, anyways, writing style aside, the plot is a bit bland initially. It gets better after page 200 I’d say? The ending was great but a bit anticlimatic in my opinion. I’d expected more action but what Maas wanted to highlight in ACOTAR was Feyre’s transition and wits in survival. Not action and drama, and for that I appreciate Maas for it.

Sure Feyre’s as stubborn and annoying as the normal 19 year old we see, but I guess she makes it work seeing how she’s pretty smart in certain things. She did remind me of Katniss from THG at first but that disappeared after she met Tamlin. The ending is freakishly like Twilight but oh, well. Still better than Twilight by folds surely.

I’d recommend this to anyone with a mild curiosity of fantasy but doesn’t want the gore and violence that usually comes with this genre. Sure this book had some gory scenes that almost make me sick, but it’s mild. It’s a great read if you want some light fantasy and nothing too serious (yet).

I would say the timing I read this book is pretty great, and not comparing it to Eragon helped a lot. Otherwise I’m pretty sure I’d be disappointed. I understand why people loved this, and why people didn’t. I’m not totally in love with this, but it did make me curious enough to try A Court of Mist and Fury!  

2 thoughts on “Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses (Sarah J Maas)

Leave a Reply

